Dale’s Sideline View: Tide tops pre-season poll

Along with Bush’s Beans becoming an official sponsor of the Southeastern Conference, the next big news was that Alabama is set to repeat its SEC football championship this year as Tide topped the preseason poll at Media Days. in Atlanta. The Tide garnered 158 votes against last year’s national champion Georgia Bulldogs with 140 votes.

The Tide was chosen to win the SEC West, edging out second-place selection Texas A&M. Arkansas came third, followed by Ole Miss, LSU, Mississippi State and Auburn. Georgia was selected to win the SEC East over second place Kentucky. Tennessee was chosen third, followed by Florida, South Carolina, Missouri and Vanderbilt. In a small surprise, Vanderbilt received a first vote to win the championship. The media has only picked the winner nine times since 1992. The media picked the champion the previous two seasons, but also picked the Tide the previous seven years to win the title.

Alabama also topped the All-SEC preseason football squad with 19 league selections, including 10 first-team selections. The Crimson Tide had four offensive and defensive first teams and two specialists. Georgia was a distant second with nine selections.

Ole Miss had a first-team selection in offensive lineman Nick Broeker while wide receiver Jonathan Mingo was named to the second team. Running back Zach Evans and offensive lineman Jeremy James were selected for the third offensive team.

Mississippi State’s only selection was defensive back Emmanuel Forbes in the second team. Bulldogs record quarterback Will Rogers did not attend Media Days, nor was he included on the All-SEC preseason squads. Alabama quarterback Bryce Young was named to the first team, Tennessee quarterback Hendon Hooker voted to the second team, and Kentucky’s Will Lewis was named to the third team.

SWAC head coaches met the media in Birmingham where Jackson State and Southern of Baton Rouge were chosen to win their respective divisions. The JSU Tigers edged Florida A&M and Alabama A&M while Alabama State, Bethune-Cookman and Mississippi Valley followed in that order. Southern edged out Alcorn State in the Eastern Division, followed by Prairie View, Grambling, Arkansas-Pine Bluff and Texas Southern in that order. Jackson State quarterback Shedeur Sanders was voted preseason offensive player of the year by the media.

The Sun Belt Conference Media Days will be held this week at the Sheraton in New Orleans. Golden Eagles head coach Will Hall will be on stage Wednesday.

The Major League Baseball Draft selected 23 young men from our state last week. Mississippi State pitcher Landon Sims was the first selected 34th overall by Arizona. National champion Ole Miss and 2021 national champion Mississippi State Bulldogs led the way with seven selections each. Southern Mississippi had five pitchers selected while the Detroit Tigers drafted William Carey outfielder Chris Williams Jr. in the 18th round. Meridian Community College’s Ke’Shan Collier was chosen by Arizona in the 22nd round. Two high school players were picked as South Panola’s Emmarion Boyd went to Philadelphia in the 11th round and Tishomingo County shortstop Spence Coffman was drafted by San Diego in the 19th round.

The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame will induct eight new members July 30 in Jackson at the Convention Center. New inductees include Maggie Bowen-Hanna (swimming), Jim Gallagher Jr. (golf), Kermit Davis Sr. (basketball), Bob Tyler (football coach), David Dellucci (baseball), Barry Lyons (baseball), Eric Molds (soccer) and Willis Wright (high school coach). The Hall of Fame will host a “Meet the Inductees” autograph session from 10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. on Saturday morning at the Museum. This year’s class, as well as previous inductees, will be available to sign autographs for fans. Contact the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame in Jackson for ticket information.

Dale has been writing sports in Mississippi since 1973. Listen to Dale and Marshall Wood at the Brouhaha Sports Show every Tuesday at 6 p.m. on WABO FM 105.5 in the Waynesboro area. This week’s guest is Laurel Leader-Call sportswriter Josh Beasley. To listen to the broadcast on your computer or smartphone anywhere in the world, go to Google Chrome; go to wabo105.com and click on listen live. You can also access The Brouhaha on YouTube and listen to archived shows.

Comments are closed.