Young and Tide in the lead with 3 1st teammates – 95.5 WSB

Heisman Trophy winner Bryce Young and his Alabama teammates Will Anderson Jr. and Jameson Williams have been named All-Americans by the Associated Press, giving the top-ranked Crimson Tide more first-team players than any other school.

The AP All-America team presented by Regions Bank, selected by a panel of the top 25 voters in college football polls, was released on Monday.

Young became Alabama’s fourth player and Tide’s first quarterback, to win the Heisman on Saturday night. Anderson, who leads the nation in sacks with 15.5, was fifth in the Heisman vote.

Alabama (12-1) will face No.4 Cincinnati (13-0) in the college football playoff semifinals on December 31.

The Tide will bring five players who received AP All-American honors in their playoff game. Tackle Evan Neal made the second team and the Jordan Battle security was a third team selection.

Cincinnati is represented in the first team by cornerback Ahmad Gardner, who was a second All-American team last season. Bearcats cornerback Coby Bryant made the second team.

The other New Year’s Eve playoff semi-final, Michigan No.2 (12-1) vs. Georgia No.3 (12-1), will feature four other first-team All-Americans.

Defensive end Aidan Hutchinson, Heisman finalist and kicker Jake Moody are All-Americans for the Wolverines. Georgia’s top-ranked defense is represented by defensive tackle Jordan Davis and linebacker Nakobe Dean.

Michigan linebacker David Ojabo was selected for the second team and running back Hassan Haskins was a third team selection.

Georgia tied Alabama with five players across all three teams. Defensive tackle Devonte Wyatt and first-year tight end Brock Bowers made the second team and safety Lewis Cine was a third team pick.

Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett was on the second team and Heisman finalist CJ Stroud of Ohio State was third team QB.

Iowa State running back Breece Hall is the only player to return to the AP All-American first team this season.

Iowa center Tyler Linderbaum and Texas A&M goalie Kenyon Green have each been selected as the first team this season after making the second team in 2020.

Kentucky tackle Darian Kinnard and Oregon rusher Kayvon Thibodeaux moved from third team in 2020 to first team in 2021.

The AP added two players, one on each side of the ball, to the teams this year, the first change to the All-America structure since 2006. To reflect a game that features more passing than ever before – and more schools playing major college football – offenses now feature three receivers and defenses include an additional defensive back.

With more wide receiver positions to fill, Ohio State became the first school with three broads to win All-America honors in the same season. Chris Olave and Garrett Wilson made the second team and Jaxon Smith-Njigba was a third team pick.

Add Williams of Alabama, a transfer from Ohio state and four receivers who played for the Buckeyes in 2020 made the AP All-America teams.

The Buckeyes led all schools, placing eight players on all three teams. Offensive linemen Thayer Munford and Nichola Petit-Frere, defensive lineman Haskell Garrett and kicker Noah Ruggles joined the three receivers and Stroud, all of whom were on second team.


First team members per school

Alabama – 3.

Georgia, Michigan, Oregon, Texas A&M – 2.

Auburn, Baylor, Boston College, Cincinnati, State of Colorado, Houston, Iowa, State of Iowa, State of Kansas, Kentucky, State of Michigan, State of North Carolina, Pittsburgh, Purdue, State of San Diego, Utah – 1.

First team members per conference

SEC – 9.

Big Ten – 5.

Pac-12 – 3.

CAC – 3.

Large 12 – 3.

American – 2.

West Mountain – 2.



Quarterback – Bryce Young, sophomore, Alabama.

running back – Kenneth Walker III, junior, Michigan State; Breece Hall, junior, State of Iowa.

Tackling – Ikem Ekwonu, junior, State of North Carolina; Darian Kinnard, senior, Kentucky.

Guardsmen -Kenyon Green, junior, Texas A&M; Zion Johnson, senior, Boston College.

Center – Tyler Linderbaum, junior, Iowa.

Close End – Trey McBride, Sr., State of Colorado.

Receivers – Jordan Addison, sophomore, Pittsburgh; David Bell, junior, Purdue; Jameson Williams, junior, Alabama.

Versatile player – Deuce Vaughn, sophomore, Kansas State.

Kicker – Jake Moody, senior, Michigan.


Edge rushers – Aidan Hutchinson, senior, Michigan; Kayvon Thibodeaux, junior, Oregon.

Linemen – Jordan Davis, Sr., Georgia; DeMarvin Leal, junior, Texas A&M.

Linebackers – Will Anderson, Jr., sophomore, Alabama; Nakobe Dean, junior, Georgia; Devin Lloyd, junior, Utah.

Cornerbacks – Ahmad Gardner, junior, Cincinnati; Roger McCreary, senior, Auburn.

Safety – Verone McKinley III, second year, Oregon; Jalen Pitre, senior, Baylor.

Defensive back – Marcus Jones, senior, Houston.

Gambler – Matt Araiza, junior, State of San Diego.



Quarterback – Kenny Pickett, senior, Pittsburgh.

Running backs – Sean Tucker, sophomore, Syracuse; Tyler Badie, senior, Missouri.

Tackling – Evan Neal, junior, Alabama; Nicholas Petit-Frere, Junior, State of Ohio.

Guardsmen – Thayer Munford, senior, Ohio State; William Dunkle, junior, State of San Diego.

Center – Alec Lindstrom, senior, Boston College.

Tight Wing – Freshman Brock Bowers, Georgia.

Receivers – Chris Olave, senior, Ohio State; Garrett Wilson, junior, State of Ohio; Jerreth Sterns, junior, Western Kentucky.

Versatile player – Jahmyr Gibbs, sophomore, Georgia Tech.

Kicker – Noah Ruggles, senior, Ohio State.


Edge rushers —Jermaine Johnson, senior, State of Florida; Cameron Thomas, junior, State of San Diego.

Linemen – Devonte Wyatt, senior, GA; Haskell Garrett, senior, State of Ohio.

Linebackers – Malcolm Rodriguez, senior, Oklahoma State; Leo Chenal, junior, Wisconsin; David Ojabo, junior, Michigan.

Cornerbacks – Coby Bryant, senior, Cincinnati; Ja’Quan McMillian, junior, East Carolina.

Securities – Jaquan Brisker, senior, Penn State; Kyle Hamilton, junior, Notre-Dame.

Defensive back – JoJo Domann, senior, Nebraska.

Gambler – Adam Korsak, senior, Rutgers.



Quarterback – CJ Stroud, rookie redshirt, Ohio State.

Running backs – Hassan Haskins, senior, Michigan; Sincerely McCormick, junior, UTSA.

Tackling – Connor Galvin, senior, Baylor, Max Mitchell, senior, Louisiane-Lafayette.

Guards — Andrew Vorhees, senior, Southern California; Josh Seltzner, senior, Wisconsin.

Center – Michael Maietti, senior, Missouri.

Close End – Michael Mayer, sophomore, Notre-Dame.

Receivers – Drake London, junior, Southern California; Jaxon Smith-Njigba, second year, Ohio State; Jahan Dotson, senior, Penn State.

Versatile player – Deven Thompkins, senior, State of Utah.

Kicker – Caleb Shudak, senior, Iowa.


Edge rushers – Will McDonald IV, junior, Iowa State; Sam Williams, senior, Mississippi.

Linemen – Calijah Kancey, second year, Pittsburgh; George Karlaftis, junior, Purdue.

Linebackers – Chad Muma, senior, Wyoming; Nik Bonitto, junior, Oklahoma; Andre Carter II, junior, Army.

Cornerbacks – Riley Moss, senior, Iowa; Trent McDuffie, junior, Washington.

Safety – Jordan Battle, junior, Alabama; Lewis Cine, junior, Georgia.

Defensive back – Kolby Harvell-Peel, senior, Oklahoma State.

Bettor – Jordan Stout, senior, Penn State.


Follow Ralph D. Russo on and listen on


More AP College Football: and Sign up for the AP College Football Newsletter:

Comments are closed.